Tutorial: Oreo Brownies

Earlier this evening I was browsing Twitter, like you do when I spotted a tweet from Marvel writer extraordinare Brian Reed:

I still freak out whenever a writer I really like @replies at me. Brian was the very first one do do it, way back in 2008

Well, now those brownies happen to be a favorite of my darling baby sister, whose birthday happens to be tomorrow, so I ducked into the grocery store, grabbed a pack of Oreos and set to work.  Thanks to the wonder of the iPhone I documented my process for anyone who wants to follow me into the pit of sugary death.

Marvel at my wonderful popcorn machine in the background! It's amazing and I love it and it's the best birthday present ever!

Ingredients

I cheat a bit and use a mix (it’s Funfetti! and I love Funfetti anything like, well, like 5-year-old me loved her funfetti cake with DINOSAUR sprinkles, Dinosaurs guys) so I just followed the directions on the box. I’m fairly confident these would work from scratch. If you’re a “no high fructose corn syrup ever” person like a co-worker of mine, the Trader Joe’s mix and “oreos” are a safe option.

This is the best part. Any recipe that involves smashing things is the best.

Smashing!

This is the best part. I take one third to one half of the cookies and put them into a plastic zip bag and then I put that plastic zip bag into another plastic zip bag and then I smash it with a hammer! Or I throw it onto the ground as hard as I can about 10 times.  Whatever smashes the cookies well, and the double bagging is really important. One bag or the other always pops open.

You’ll want to put aside the rest of those cookies, don’t eat them all just yet.

Don't eat it all. Really, don't do it.  You and your salmonella will regret it.

Batter Up!

When you’re mixing up your batter add the crushed cookies to your dry ingredients.  I have no idea why, but I’ve never had a problem with the batter being too dry, but your milage may vary here.

Put the batter into whatever kind of pan you like to use. I recommend a bigger one, but if you really like thick brownies feel free to use a smaller one.

This is really tough, actually. I break a lot of the cookies.Cut Your Darlings

Remember those cookies we put aside earlier? It’s time to use them!  Depending on how small you plan to cut the brownies cut 8-12 cookies in half.

Yes, I forgot the candy. hopefully Nora will forgive me

Arrange the cookies on top of the batter in the pan. I always give the first couple of rows too much space, but you don’t have to make my mistakes.

If, for some reason, you want to copy my mistakes, this is where you forget to sprinkle the candy coated chocolate chips on top of the brownies. Yes, there’s even more chocolate and sugar in these things, isn’t Funfetti wonderful?

Then bake according to your recipe, you’ll probably skew towards the longer end of the baking time.

That’s it! Enjoy!

I really don't like these too much. Because like I bakers, I like to make the stuff, but not eat it. I know, I know, I'm gonna make somebody make very happy someday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

