How much good can Baseball do?

I promise, I will write about something other than Baseball the next time I blog.  This continues from the last post though, so bear with me (note that I really love Baseball, so until October throws me into the depths of despair it’ll show up).

When last we left our heroine (me) her baseball knitting was a plain sock that looked like this:Plane Jane Sock 2 Progress

Immediately following that post the intrepid knitter headed to the last home opener at the Metrodome.  Upon reaching the stadium she knit on her sock, enjoyed the view from center field, watched the fastest man in baseball drop a two run homer 30 yards in front of her, and suffered through a devistating loss for the Minnesota Twins.  Upon reaching home her sock looked like this:img_0217

Clear progress, though not as much as the night before.  However, on Sunday I was in the lounge watching on TV whereas on Monday I was at the stadium.  When I’m at the game I find that I make less progress because I keep doing things like talking with other people, cheering, eating, the wave, and enjoying the view.  Still, I made clear progress and my sock is getting closer and closer to becoming the second of a pair.  So there, conclusive proof that baseball time is great knitting time.  I’d go into the other multitudinous virtues of Baseball (common topic for conversation with most American males, excitement, drama, general kick assness) but to my fellow knitters out there “three hours of minimally interrupted knitting time” really beats any other reason.

On the topic of my dearest, darling Minnesota Twins, well, I’m not sure what to think.  We’re down two catchers, both of whom are incredibly useful bats as well.  The Twins have struggled with run production for the last couple of seasons and it pains me to see pitchers like Nick Blackburn and Glen Perkins get the L when they only let in one run.  I’m of the opinion that better discipline at the plate would fix a lot of the Twins scoring problems, but you could easily make the case for more power or a stronger bullpen.  I can’t wait to see what happens as the team settles into the regular season, especially once Joe Mauer returns to his rightful spot behind Home Plate.  I would also like to note how delighted I am by Carlos Gomez’s improvement since last year. I love watching him play (he moves so beautifully) so I’m happy when he gets more time on the field.

2 Comments

Filed under Baseball, knitting

2 responses to “How much good can Baseball do?

  1. Baseball dos all sorts of good. Yes, yes. I’m still holding out hope that the Twins start getting their act together.

  2. I don’t know how to knit. But I do know how to watch baseball games. Having been converted from a no-fan to a Twins fan by my former roommate, I would really enjoy seeing a live game sometime soon. But I’m trapped in Sioux Falls, so I don’t see many games.

    On a positive (and more relevant) note, if I ever decide to learn how to knit, I’ll be glad to try it at a Twins game sometime. And if I do go to a game sometime and notice someone in the stands knitting a garment of some sort, I’ll see if I recognize that person as you and say hello.

    Also, that looks like a cool sock. Hopefully you’re able to make a second one for it.

Leave a Reply

