Jane Austen is a frickin’ Genuis

If you are here for knitting content you can be on your way because I ahve none, today my powers have been all about the Literary side of my nature not the Fibery one. I had to give up an English Class today and the result of this is that I decded to read for an abnormally large number of hours (even by my standards)

I just finished Mansfield Park, which I read because I have been reading the complete works of Jane Austen since the summer of 2004 and I am now very very close to finishing the cycle. I’ve been on Mansfield Park for a year and a half now and when I got bit by the Austen feaver in Bath (I really loved Bath and it is high up on my list of places to visit if I ever go abck to England) I decided to pick it up there. I started Mansfield Park during my disasterous day in Oxford, about which I will never speak again. Suffice it to say that when I am upset I buy books, the more upset I am the more books I buy. I bought three Jane Austen books in Oxford (they were on sale though). Anyway I didn’t like it much that day, in fact I very soon retreated into Harry Potter Land (I read Half-Blood Prince again, remember) and neglected Manfield Park until today when I realized that if I wanted to finish off the Jane Austen novels with Persuasion as I have always planned on doing because many, many people said that it was the most wonderful of her books, I would need to finish Mansfield Park before next week when we read Persuasion in Great Conversation. So that is a large part of what I did today. Granted I also had four classes to go to and I cleaned up and colored the first really good pictures I’ve drawn of the main characters of my novel (the one I didn’t finish for Nationl Novel Writing Month) They and an explanation of who and what they are will be at the end of this post once the internet is done being stupid. Now about the genus that is Jane Austen because I feel like bring a real Literature nerd right now.
So I wasn’t really connecting with Mansfield Park at all. I felt like Fanny (the main character) never did anything and that there were only two interesting characters in the whole of the book (Edmund and William), and I hadn’t even met one of them (William) yet. I probably only liked them because they were nice to Fanny. Anyway once the plot started picking up at eh begnning of volume two I was at least drawn in enough that I kept with the book, Fanny started to develop some sort of personality at that point in the story anyway and then the plot got really really tangled. Everything was going every which way adn Fanny was in Portsouth and William* was gone and all there was was the question of whether Mr. Crawford would change enough for Fanny to love him and whether she was ever getting back to Mansfiled Park (the house the book is named after). I had no hope for the plot at this point, there were too many loose ends and there seemed like no way that Austen could rescue everthing. What I didn’t count on was Jane Austen’s felicity for catastrophy. She places scandal and chagrin in exactly the right places at the right times to make everything wrap up neatly and maintain perfect harmony on each character. Until the last 70 pages of the book I thought I would never pick it up again after I finished reading it and now I want to read it again to get a clearer picture of the characters and ake sure that my interpretation is correct. Because I noticed something really cool. I was very sad at the lack of love scencs between the ture lovers at the end of the book (if you don’t know who they are go read it already!), but as I wass thinking about why Austen would make that kind of choice I realized that it was completely in the gloriously repressed nature of the characters to not show any affection in public but cherish an inner passion that burns as brightly as anything. I mean here are two characters whose primary connection is that they don’t show their emotions to many people and the primary confidant for each is the other. They are by their nature private and therefore Austen let them ahve their privacy. Man alive, she is so cool. I wish I could be just like Jane Austen in my writing, but not in the dying a 47 year old spinster part. I don’t think I’d like that part very much. It might be worth it for the genuis though, cause I would never have thought of this plot or been able to write characters like that. My worship at the various shrines to Jane Austen throughout England was very well placed indeed.

Ok so blogger is being stupid and when it decides to let me upload pictures there will be two. My novel is about superheroes so be forewarned I shall be approaching sillyness when describing them.

Charlie a.k.a. “Flyboy” Charlie is a flier whose natural state is in the air. His specialty is the birds eye view, his term for the airbourne tactics at which he excells. Charlie is very talented, very good looking, and a generally nice guy.

Tracy a.k.a. “Tele” A Telepath from birth Tracy never really got a handle on her powers until she came to school. The experience of being an uncontrolled telepath ahs left her socially challanged and unable to come out of a very thick shell.

I swear I will eventually get to talking about Harry Potter and the large number of exciting things hapening about him right now, but not tonight.

*William is a bit of an obsession for me at the moment becasue he is one of the very few exceptions to the Taken or Dead rule which states that an eligable and attractive male character will very shortly become either attached to the object of his ardent affections or a corpse. William is a rare exception to this rule and he’s a sailor, not quite as good as a pirate but he seems dashing enough for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

