Please feed the ego.

I always wonder if people actually read my blog, right after that I wonder if anything I say is actually interesting to read. While I am genuinely interested in the first question I am not at all really interested in the answer to the second, I prefer to live in a world (possibly imaginary) where everything I say is either funny or meaningful. Anyway Knitting, haven’t talked about that in a while. Here’s some pics for y’all This is the sock I was telling you about earlier, the one I started in a fit of Lime and Violet inspired madness. I am really quite fond of it. I haven’t been working on it much lately but I’ll get to the reason why in a minute.
This another project, my seasilk lacewings shawl. I also am in love with this pattern, it is wonderful and I think that the only thing more wonderful than knitting it now will be knitting it on my knitpicks options needles in a few rows. They are so great! The combination only occasionally leads to dropped stitch disasters and it goes so much faster that the speed makes up for the mistakes. I haven’t made much progress on this either, as to why… These are the Cyborg socks. Named becasue they are a gift for my Pimped-Out Cyborg. Pimped-Out Cyborgs are equivalent of Secret Santas but my, all christian no less, group of friends decided that it would be way more fun to call our gift exchange Pimped-Out Cyborgs instead of Secret Santas, and we’re only exchanging one larger gift s opposed to several smaller ones. Last year it was tres fun and we had a blast doing it. I love hearing about who everyone has and usually I’m pretty good at keeping secrets but this year I’m knitting a pair of fabulous socks and everyone except my cyborg has seen me knitting them. I’ve managed to poke myself sharply in the back to avoid my cyborg seeing me knitting the socks so I feel I am maintaining at least a small portion of integrity. Anyway I’ve been knitting on these almost non-stop for about a week and, obviously I’ve made good progress, if I can keep up the pace I can probably finish in time to block them and everything, I just hope my cyborg likes them.

And now a word about other bloggers. I’ve been noticing lately that my favorite pair of Canadian Bloggers (Amy, and Her Harlotness) have both begun Firefly lately. As you may or may not know, gentle reader, I am a rather devoted browncoat (Fan of Joss Whedon’s show Firefly and the accompaning movie Serenity). I quote a few lines now and then, I cut my apples with knives (much to the amusement of one of my friends who is a fellow browncoat and therefore understands what I am doing or saying). So right now I am on pins and needles waiting to find out what they think of it. I can’t help but get excited when other people discover my hobbies and obsessions, it is so exciting.

In the category of stupid things I did this week I have to nominate 7 episodes of Angel , Pride and Prejudice, and Jane Eyre. All of whom were wonderful and also horrid distractions this week. Yes, that’s right I read two british novels and watched a lot of TV. I did do most of my homework, so things worked out ok, but I feel like I could have been doing better things with my time. I do know why I did those things though. I really like Joss Whedon (see Firefly above), and I had an orientation meeting for Theater in London on Wednsday, which meant that I feel the need to embrace all things British, so I read a lot, and watched and listened to The Secret Garden.

The word you are looking for is “Anglophile”, I am yet another.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

