Big News

Poetry Reading
This is the second time I’ve tried to blog today, here’s hoping this time goes better. In answer to your question, yes I’m still feeling lousy, but it’s mostly just general grumpiness and laziness so I’ll get over it. So today in honor of one of my favorite saints, St. Brigid (what can I say? I’m a good Irish girl), there is a silent poetry reading. It was started here, and quickly spread through the blogosphere. So I give you my favorite Catullus Poem:

Quaeris, quot mihi basiationes
tuae, Lesbia, sint satis superque.
quam magnus numerus Libyssae harenae
lasarpiciferis iacet Cyrenis
oraclum Iovis inter aestuosi
et Batti veteris sacrum sepulcrum;
aut quam sidera multa, cum tacet nox,
furtivos hominum vident amores:
tam te basia multa basiare
vesano satis et super Catullo est,
quae nec pernumerare curiosi
possint nec mala fascinare lingua.

That’s Latin folks. I have to say that I do love that raunchy Latin poet (although this one is fairly clean). Catullus is definitely one of the better things I learned in my 6 years of Latin study. I read a bit of Catullus when I’m in a place where he can cheer me up, but right now I would say my mental place is very much like a moor and therefore a sweeping love affair will only make me think about the Brontes, and they are not the happiest of people. I’ll go someplace happy, and non British…or else I’ll just watch Pride and Prejudice (the Colin Firth version of course) it should make me fairly happy, it almost always does. Ok honestly I’m feeling much better for having made all the people who can’t read latin wait this long for the English of the poem. I am not that cruel, and it is an incredibly beautiful poem, I’m still stalling ,I really enjoy it. I could tell you about the even-more-exciting-than-Catullus thing that happened today… but that would be cruel… ok I give the English:

You ask, my Lesbia, how many of your kisses
are enough and more than enough for me.
As big a number as the Libyan grains of sand
that lie at silphium producing Cyrene
between the oracle of Sultry Jupiter
and the sacred tomb of old Battus;
Or as many stars that see the secret love affairs of men,
when the night is silent.
So many kisses are enough
and more than enough for mad Catullus to kiss you,
these kisses which neither the inquisitive are able to count
nor an evil tongue bewitch.

There, isn’t it beautiful? If it isn’t imagine yourself in a dim classroom, with yellow walls that after long enough start to strain your eyes. You are bent over a piece of paper and a book, the book is half in English and half in latin. You have been translating such gems as parts of the Aeneid (actually a very fun translation, but we stayed more towards the battle and sweeping epic scenes, rather than the love stories), The Gallic Wars (Caesar is dry), and innumerable passages by Marcus Tullius (“Tully”) Cicero (I HATE Cicero) and then suddenly you come across this. It would lighten up anyone’s day, but especially mine.

BIG Fiber News
I’m super excited to talk about this.
I.
Learned.
to.
Spin!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Before Y’all ask me to contain my excitement let me explain that I have been dying to spin ever since the fall knitty came out and KnittySpun started. So today Mom and I went to Detta’s Spindle, which is a lovely home/shop overflowing with fiber, I think though in the future I’ll buy my spindles and things online, because they are cheaper, but for the first time spinner, it is really nice to have a real live person there, who is used to teaching people who have never spun before to spin. Now that doesn’t exactly apply to me. It’s the same thing as with knitting, when Mom was in her knitting phase I learned to knit, but didn’t actually keep going, so when Mom bought a complete source of fiber (from the animal, a llama and 2 alpacas, to the needles, via a spinning wheel) I learned to card and spin the, in this case, wool. Luckily spinning is like riding bicycle, because I am at the same stage I was before, lumpy, not very pretty yarn. Now of course I have the added bonus of knowing about and being able to ply. And that has made all the difference. My first bit of yarn is actually knitted up and looks like it’s someone’s first bit of yarn, but hey, it’s mine and that’s cool enough for me. Now there are ways to cheat and make a god bi of yarn without any work at all, but it requires pre drafted roving, which I have and am currently spinning into a lovely single that will eventually, I hope, be a hat. But until then it’s playing with my beautifully carved CD drop spindle (really pretty carved Center with a CD for the weight).

Blog Things

I’ll take pictures soon, but it is a real hassle here and I’d rather take a million and post them in bits, just in case this Camera thing doesn’t sort itself out soon.
Just one more blog fad to bow to, here’s my word cloud:

  • Image hosting by Photobucket
  • it’s not as cool as I’d have hoped but hey, it’s a fairly new blog, I’ll try again in a week or so, see if it’s any different. I at least was amused by the fact that Les Miserables was on the list, I guess I am obsessed. But it’s nothing to Harry Potter, I just haven’t had much to say about I, I’m still in the process of understanding the newest book, it takes a while because I need to get past the exciting story (in other words I need to take more than a day to read it) and really comprehend. It should only take one more go before I’m there, but only because I’m hoping for quicker recovery than for OOP. There was something on page 806 that broke my heart and left me crying for days…I really had no clue what happened after that because I just didn’t care. Oh well, dum vita est spes est right? Of course right.
    OOOH! one more cool thing, I have officially got archives now. Before it was all on this page, but I’m on post 12 and so there are two posts in the archives. For me this is a big accomplishment, especially after less than a month on the blog. I’m not going to say how long it took for my LJ archives to start, it’s embarrassing, but now I get a feeling of establishment, like I’ve arrived. It’s cool man.
  • Leave a comment

    Filed under Uncategorized

    Leave a Reply

    